Bristol RFC v Dragons Match Report

The Dragons hit the ground running, as it took them just three minutes to pressure Bristol into a penalty leading to fly-half Jason Tovey opening the scoring with a successful kick.

The Men of Gwent eased themselves nicely into the game as Tovey took it upon himself to add more point to the board with a converted try, putting the Region into a comfortable 10-0 lead.

Just past the thirty minute mark, after a sustained period of pressure for the home team, referee Simon Harding penalised the Dragons for an infringement on their try line leading to a penalty try for Bristol RFC, with Adrian Jarvis adding the conversion.

Dragons newcomer Rynard Landman responded as he made waves crossing the whitewash, after some great play from Powell and Jonathan Evans. Tovey once again added the extras to make it 17-7 to the visitors.

With the final play of the first half Newport Gwent Dragons were rewarded with a penalty which Tovey kicked between the posts making it 12-20 as the half time whistle was blown.

Half Time: Bristol RFC 12 – Newport Gwent Dragons 20

The Welsh Region made 13 changes to the team for the second half, with Jack Dixon and Pat Leach the only players to return for the second half.

It was the hosts who added the first set of points to the scoreboard with a try which wasn’t converted. Second row Cory Hill responded on the Dragons behalf by latching onto a pass from Pat Leach and making it across the try line with Rhys Jones converting.

It was Bristol RFC’s Luke Eves who next powered over the line for Bristol, whose try was converted adding crucial points to the board. However it was the Dragons who had the last try of the night as O’Brien sent Owen Evans over under the sticks with Rhys Jones once again converting.

Full Time: Bristol RFC 19 – Newport Gwent Dragons 34

Dragons Squad:

Scott Andrews, Aled Brew, Lee Byrne ©, Andrew Coombs, Nic Cudd, Elliot Dee,  Jack Dixon, Connor Edwards, Jonathan Evans, Lewis Evans, Owen Evans, Lloyd Fairbrother,  Luke Garrett, Ian Gough, Hugh Gustafson, Ashton Hewitt, Cory Hill, Dorian Jones, Rhys Jones, Rynard Landman, Pat Leach, Scott Matthews, Barney Nightingale, Angus O’Brien, Matthew Pewtner, Tom Prydie, Andy Powell, Richie Rees, Matthew Screech, Boris Stankovich, James Thomas, T. Rhys Thomas, Jason Tovey, Dan Way, David Young.

Bristol RFC Squad:

Charlie Amesbury, Luke Baldwin, Mark Cooke, Max Crumpton, Ryan Edwards, Luke Eves, Ellis Genge, Ben Glynn, James Hall, Craig Hampson, Darren Hudson, Adrian Jarvis, Joe Joyce, Rhys Lawrence, Ben Leung, Marco Mama, Jack O’Connell, Dwayne Peel ©, Ross Rennie, Ollie Robinson, Callum Sheedy, Ben Skirving, Lucas Slowik, Glenn Townson, Jack Wallace.

Referee: Simon Harding (RFU)

Stay Home Advice
Would you like to be part of our success? FIND OUT MORE
Headline Sponsor
Primary Partners