page stock image
details pointer

There are five changes to the starting XV for Wales as Ellis Jenkins, Tomas Francis, Ryan Elias, Aled Davies and Owen Watkin all come into the side. 

Despite Ellis Jenkins returning to the back row at blindside, alongside James Davies and Ross Moriarty, Cory Hill retains the armband. 

In leading his country for a second-time, Hill’s rise in becoming a key figure in the Wales set-up is ensconced and means that he will have featured in all 12 Wales test matches this season.

Like last Saturday Adam Beard partners Hill again in the second row, but there's a new look front row with Ryan Elias and Tomas Francis coming in for their first starts of the tour alongside Rob Evans.

Aled Davies also gets his first start at half-back alongside Rhys Patchell, and Owen Watkin comes into the midfield with Scott Williams at centre, after Hadleigh Parkes was ruled out through injury.

The back-three is unchanged from the victory in San Juan last weekend with Hallam Amos at full-back with Josh Adams and George North on the wings.

"We’ve made five changes to the starting line-up as we want to see a few players from the start and give those players a bit more opportunity" said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

"Looking at the objectives of this tour, we are right on track, we have won two games from two but more importantly we have exposed players to test match rugby and given more opportunity and that was the aim coming in.

"We want to go home three from three but we know the challenge that we are up against this weekend and we also are looking at the bigger picture.  We might have picked a slightly different team if it was just about results but it is about more than that it is about building for 2019 and we are on the right track.

"Both Cory (Hill) and Ellis (Jenkins) have been great on tour as co-captains.  This week with them both in the side we have just gone for a bit of continuity with Cory doing the job as he did last weekend. Additionally we are asking Ellis to play at six so this allows him to concentrate on that role on Saturday."

Elliot Dee, Nicky Smith and Dillon Lewis provide the front-row cover on the bench with Bradley Davies and Josh Turnbull named as the other forwards.  Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe and Tom Prydie complete the replacements.

WALES TEAM TO FACE ARGENTINA (Santa Fe, Saturday June 16).
15. Hallam Amos (17 Caps)
14. Josh Adams (3 Caps)
13. Scott Williams (56 Caps)
12. Owen Watkin (5 Caps) - 
11. George North (75 Caps)
10. Rhys Patchell (9 Caps)
9. Aled Davies (10 Caps)
1. Rob Evans (26 Caps)
2. Ryan Elias (4 Caps)
3. Tomas Francis (32 Caps)
4. Adam Beard (3 Caps)
5. Cory Hill (17 Caps) (CAPTAIN)
6. Ellis Jenkins (7 Caps)
7. James Davies (2 Caps)
8. Ross Moriarty (23 Caps)

16. Elliot Dee (9 Caps)
17. Nicky Smith (20 Caps)
18. Dillon Lewis (4 Caps)
19. Bradley Davies (62 Caps)
20. Josh Turnbull (9 Caps)
21. Tomos Williams (1 Cap)
22. Gareth Anscombe (17 Caps)
23. Tom Prydie (6 Caps)

  • JDVII small
  • Munster small
  • Dragons Wine Club
next game pointer icon

Next Game

Saturday January 26



Rodney Parade, Newport

KO 3:00 PM

adverts pointer icon

Official Sponsors