page stock image
details pointer


Rory Best will captain a new starting line-up as the Lions look to further build momentum towards the 1st Test following victory over the Maori All Blacks in Rotorua. 

Head Coach Warren Gatland said: “We are five games into the Tour and there is still a lot to play for.  Those involved on Tuesday will be playing not only for themselves in terms of further selection but also for the whole squad.

“We are here to win a Test series and we have brought cover for the replacements bench so we can limit the number of players who need to double up, which is tough to do at this level of rugby.

“We know it is going to be another big challenge against the Chiefs who have won the Super Rugby title twice in the last five years.”

British & Irish Lions (v Chiefs, Tuesday June 20, FMG Stadium, Waikato, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST):

15. Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales, #833

14. Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England, #828

13. Jared Payne – Ulster, Ireland, #830

12. Robbie Henshaw – Leinster, Ireland, #824

11. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England, #822

10. Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales, #821

9. Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester Rugby, Scotland, #810

1. Joe Marler – Harlequins, England, #811

2. Rory Best (c) – Ulster, Ireland, #793

3. Dan Cole – Leicester Tigers, England, #794

4. Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland, #808

5. Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England, #826

6. James Haskell – Wasps, England, #823

7. Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales, #786

8. CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland, #831



16. Kristian Dacey – Cardiff Blues, Wales

17. Allan Dell – Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland

18. Tomas Francis – Exeter Chiefs, Wales

19. Cory Hill – Newport Gwent Dragons, Wales

20. Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales, #761

21. Gareth Davies – Scarlets, Wales

22. Finn Russell – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland

23. Tommy Seymour – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, #813

  • How to find us
  • Dragons Xmas double
  • Conference & Events 2017
next game pointer icon

Next Game

Friday November 24



Royal Dublin Society, Dublin

KO 7:35 PM

adverts pointer icon

Official Sponsors