page stock image
details pointer

To view our Facebook gallery from the night, courtesy of Huw Evans Agency, please click here (please note you do not need a Facebook account to view the gallery).

OIlie Griffiths scooped three major honours on the night. This marked the end of a fantastic week for the Back Row Forward who was called up to the Wales Squad for the Summer Tour on Tuesday.

Griffiths was name ‘Argus Dragon of the Year’, as voted for by Argus readers and presented by Rugby Correspondent Chris Kirwan. He was also named ‘Players Player of the Season’, edging out last year’s winner Nic Cudd and Adam Warren who made up the Top 3 based on nominations from the squad. Lyndon Bigmore presented the Award, along with a Tag Heuer Carrera Chronometer Watch. Finally Griffiths was named Supporters Player of the Season, sponsored by Worthington’s. This award was voted for by Supporters through the Dragons Official Supporters Club. Nic Cudd was named in second place with Sarel Pretorius in third.

Dragons star Ed Jackson, currently recovering from a serious neck injury, featured on the night by sending a pre-recorded message to guests. Jackson extended his congratulations to winners, as well as those who have been called up to the Wales Squads this week.

A number of caps were presented on the night, given out by Dragons Chairman Martyn Hazell. Players to receive caps for achieving their 50th start during the season were Nick Crosswell, Jack Dixon, Brok Harris, Cory Hill, Carl Meyer, Rhys Thomas and Adam Warren. Two players achieved their 100th start during the campaign, Nic Cudd and Adam Hughes. Finally Dragons Captain Lewis Evans achieved his 150th start against Worcester Warriors. His 200th appearance made against Ulster, was also recognised.

The Phil James Community Award, sponsored by Clarity Copiers, was awarded to Dragons Full Back Carl Meyer. The Award, named in honour of Dragons Community Officer Phil James who passed away in 2016, is awarded to a player who has gone above and beyond to support the Community Department throughout the Season.

The Most Promising Player of the Season was awarded to Harri Keddie. The accolade was voted for by the Dragons Coaches, who had chosen a shortlist including Angus O’Brien and Sam Beard.

Two awards were given for ‘Clubman of the Year’. One was voted for by the playing department and awarded to Dragons Prop Forward Craig Mitchell. The second was voted for by the Rodney Parade staff and awarded to Rodney Parade Groundsman John Raymond.

Try of the Season, sponsored by Niche Financial Advisors, was voted for by guests on the night. Of ten tries shortlisted Matthew Screech was chosen as the winner for his second try of the match against Gloucester in the Anglo Welsh Cup in February.

  • Edinburgh at Ebbw
  • How to find us
next game pointer icon

Next Game

Saturday January 20



Rodney Parade, Newport

KO 3:00 PM

adverts pointer icon

Official Sponsors