adverts pointer icon

Match Report

Newport Gwent Dragons were beaten by Leinster Rugby this evening at the RDS, with the Irish side running in four tries securing a bonus point.


The Men of Gwent were looking for another victory to go with their four matches from four unbeaten streak, however it wasn’t meant to be for the Welsh Region as they only crossed for two tries. 

The first score came from the hosts through prop Peter Dooley, which was easily converted by Leinster skipper Isa Nacewa. Soon after Leinster were over for their second try thanks to Ross Maloney. A break from youngster Luke McGrath saw him slip through the Dragons defence, offload and move to see Ross Maloney cross. Nacewa converted once again, before fly-half Angus O’Brien added the Dragon first three points to the scoreboard thanks to a penalty kick.

The home side’s third try came through Jack Conan who went over under the sticks for the home side, with the conversion making it 21-3.

Leinster thought that they had their bonus point before the first half was out, but referee Marius Mitrea deemed no try after taking a closer look at a forward pass, with the help of the TMO.

Half Time: Leinster 21 – Dragons 3

It wasn’t long after the whistle was blown for the second half that Leinster secured their bonus point try. It was centre Joey Carbury who went over with Leinster’s captain converting.

The Dragons scored their first try in the 54th minute thanks to Pat Howard powering over. After making yards with the lineout drive and passing the ball out wide, a neat pass from replacement Geraint Rhys Jones saw Howard go over, unfortunately the tricky conversion was missed by O’Brien.

It was the 69th minute when the Dragons went over for their second try, this was scored by replacement scrum-half Sarel Pretorius. This time O’Brien made no mistake with the conversion.

With time running out the Dragons looked strong and were playing well however no more points were scored by either team, with the final scores ending on 28-15.

T C D P Leinster V Dragons T C D P
1 Substituted Peter Dooley 1 Phil Price Substituted
Substituted James Tracy 2 Elliot Dee Substituted
Substituted Jeremy Loughman 3 Brok Harris Substituted
1 Ross Molony 4 Nick Crosswell Substituted
Substituted Hayden Triggs 5 Rynard Landman
Substituted Rhys Ruddock 6 Lewis Evans (C)
Dan Leavy 7 Nic Cudd Substituted
1 Jack Conan 8 Harrison Keddie Substituted
Substituted Luke McGrath 9 Tavis Knoyle Substituted
1 Substituted Joey Carbery 10 Angus O'Brien 1 1
4 (C) Isa Nacewa 11 Adam Warren
Substituted Noel Reid 12 Jack Dixon Substituted
Rory O'Loughlin 13 Tyler Morgan
Adam Byrne 14 Pat Howard 1
Zane Kirchner 15 Carl Meyer Substituted
T C D P Replacements T C D P
Substitution Richardt Strauss 16 Rhys Buckley Substitution
Substitution Andrew Porter 17 Thomas Davies Substitution
Substitution Oisin Heffernan 18 Lloyd Fairbrother Substitution
Substitution Mike McCarthy 19 Cory Hill Substitution
Substitution Max Deegan 20 James Thomas Substitution
Substitution Charlie Rock 21 Sarel Pretorius Substitution 1
Substitution Ross Byrne 22 Geraint Rhys Jones Substitution
Substitution Tom Daly 23 Tom Prydie Substitution

Head to Head Statistics

Leinster       Dragons

  • Dragons v Leinster Match Promo
  • Web Advert Square - Join The Evolution
  • How to find us
next game pointer icon

Next Game

Saturday August 19

Exeter Chiefs


Sandy Park Stadium, Exeter

KO 3:30 PM

adverts pointer icon

Official Sponsors