adverts pointer icon

Match Report

Newport Gwent Dragons won their first match in the Guinness PRO12 since January 2016, after beating Zebre at Rodney Parade this evening 11-6.


Head coach Kingsley Jones has given Welsh Internationals Hallam Amos and Tyler Morgan their first starts of the season, which skipper Lewis Evans making the mot appearances for the Dragons after taking over Steve ‘Jabba’ Jones. 

The game began well with the Dragons attacking Zebre wide and pushing the Italians back into their own half. However a penalty is given to Zebre, and after 9 minutes on the clock and Carlo Canna knocks it over the posts to give the Italians a lead of 3-0.

Afte a few chances were missed by the Dragons, their first and only try came from last weekends try scorer Pat Howard. It was Rynard Landman who made the strides through the Zebre defence to offload to scrum half Sarel Pretorius who pushed forward. Finally seeing wing Pat Howard cross the whitewash.  However, the conversion was missed seeing the Dragons take a lead of 5-3 after 20 minutes.

The Dragons extended their lead on the 30 minute marker with a successful penalty kick from Nick Macleod. The fly-half added another 3 points to the score board through an additional penalty seeing the Men of Gwent extend their lead to 11-3.

Yet Zebre were awarded their own penalty just before the half time whistle, with Cana kicking a successful penalty.

The second half didn’t see any points scored by either side, and it was Zebre who kick started the half. As fly-half Carlo Canna had the opportunity to add three extra points but the chance was missed.

The scores remained unchanged with the final whistle was blown, ending the match on a score of 11-6.

T C D P Dragons V Zebre T C D P
Substituted Thomas Davies 1 Andrea De Marchi Substituted Yellow card
Substituted Thomas Rhys Thomas 2 Oliviero Fabiani Substituted
Yellow card Substituted Brok Harris 3 Pietro Ceccarelli Substituted
Substituted Nick Crosswell 4 Quintin Geldenhuys
Substituted Rynard Landman 5 George Biagi (C) Substituted
(C) Lewis Evans 6 Jacopo Sarto
Substituted Nic Cudd 7 Maxime Mbanda
Ed Jackson 8 Andries van Schalkwyk Substituted
Substituted Sarel Pretorius 9 Guglielmo Palazzani Substituted
2 Nick MacLeod 10 Carlo Canna 2
1 Pat Howard 11 Gabriele Di Giulio
Sam Beard 12 Tommaso Boni Substituted
Tyler Morgan 13 Giulio Bisegni
Adam Warren 14 Lloyd Greef
Hallam Amos 15 Kurt Baker Substituted
T C D P Replacements T C D P
Substitution Rhys Buckley 16 Carlo Festuccia Substitution
Substitution Sam Hobbs 17 Guillermo Roan Substitution Yellow card
Substitution Lloyd Fairbrother 18 Dario Chistolini Substitution
Substitution Matthew Screech 19 Gideon Koegelenberg Substitution
Substitution James Thomas 20 Federico Ruzza Substitution
Substitution Charlie Davies 21 Carlo Engelbrecht Substitution
Angus O'Brien 22 Matteo Pratichetti Substitution
Geraint Rhys Jones 23 Edoardo Padovani Substitution

Head to Head Statistics

Dragons       Zebre

Zebre Rugby
  • Web Advert Square - Join The Evolution
  • How to find us
  • Dragons v Leinster Match Promo
next game pointer icon

Next Game

Saturday August 19

Exeter Chiefs


Sandy Park Stadium, Exeter

KO 3:30 PM

adverts pointer icon

Official Sponsors