adverts pointer icon

Match Report

In what was a frustrating afternoon for the Dragons the one try and one penalty scored were not enough to get the men of Gwent back on track and into winning ways in the RaboDirect PRO12.

An opening penalty for the Dragons put them on the front foot as Jason Tovey kicked. But when awarded with a second penalty in the 6th minute Tovey failed to convert keeping the scores on 3-0.

As both teams battled on, it was Connacht who came out on top as captain John Muldoon crossed the whitewash after profiting from a scrum drive and the try was converted. But this was after Dragons flanker Nic Cudd had stopped Connacht claiming a push over try in the 12th minute.

The Dragons were then penalised as Rob Sidoli illegally took out a Connacht player in the line out. Being down to 14 men the visitors took advantage and Rodney Ah You crossed the try line and Park converted, taking the visitors lead to 3-14.

After this Lyn Jones changed the entire front row as Phil Price, Elliot Dee and Duncan Bell made their way on for Owen Evans, Hugh Gustafson and Bruce Douglas.

Half Time: Dragons 3 Connacht 14

The Welsh region came out fighting in the second half and Tovey had the chance to add more crucial points to the scoreboard, but the ball went wide. The Dragons efforts still didn’t seem to be enough against the strong Irish outfit as their skipper got his second try of the night extending their score to 3-19, but Miah Nikora who replaced Dan Parks missed the conversion.

Shortly after this Darragh Leader was penalised and got a yellow card and the Dragons made the most of this as winger Tom Prydie crossed the try line. Unfortunatley for teh home side Tovey once again missed the conversion bringing their score up to 8-19. But it wasn’t long after this that the visitors made their way across the try line in the 79th minute, but Nikora did not convert leaving the scores at 8-24.


Newport Gwent Dragons

Daniel Evans, Tom Prydie, Ross Wardle, Jack Dixon, Will Harries,  Jason Tovey, Richie Rees; Owen Evans, Hugh Gustafson, Bruce Douglas, Andrew Coombs (c), Rob Sidoli, Lewis Evans, Nic Cudd, Netani Talei.

Replacements:  Elliot Dee, Phil Price, Duncan Bell, Matthew Screech, Taulupe Faletau, Wayne Evans, Ashley Smith, Matthew Pewtner.

Connacht Rugby

Robbie Henshaw, Tiernan O’Halloran, Eoin Griffin, David McSharry, Fionn Carr, Dan Parks, Kieron Marmion; Dennis Buckley, Jason Harris-Wright, Rodney Ah You, Aly Muldowney, Mick Kearney, John Muldoon (c), Eoghan Masterson, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Ronan Loughney, Nathan White, Mike Swift, Andrew Browne, Frank Murphy, Miah Nikora, Darragh Leader.

Man of the Match: John Muldoon

Attendance: 5474



T C D P Dragons V Connacht T C D P
Substituted Owen Evans 1 Dennis Buckley Substituted
Substituted Hugh Gustafson 2 Jason Harris-Wright Substituted
Substituted Bruce Douglas 3 Rodney Ah You Substituted 1
(C) Andrew Coombs 4 Aly Muldowney
Yellow card Substituted Rob Sidoli 5 Mick Kearney Substituted
Lewis Evans 6 John Muldoon (C) 2
Nic Cudd 7 Eoghan Masterson Substituted
Substituted Netani Talei 8 Eoin McKeon
Substituted Richie Rees 9 Kieron Marmion
1 Jason Tovey 10 Dan Parks Substituted 2
Will Harries 11 Fionn Carr
Substituted Jack Dixon 12 David McSharry Substituted
Ross Wardle 13 Eoin Griffin
1 Tom Prydie 14 Tiernan O'Halloran
Dan Evans 15 Robbie Henshaw
T C D P Replacements T C D P
Substitution Elliot Dee 16 Dave Heffernan Substitution
Substitution Phil Price 17 Ronan Loughney Substitution
Substitution Duncan Bell 18 Nathan White Substitution
Substitution Matthew Screech 19 Mike Swift Substitution 1
Substitution Taulupe Faletau 20 Andrew Browne Substitution
Substitution Wayne Evans 21 Frank Murphy
Substitution Ashley Smith 22 Miah Nikora Substitution
Matthew Pewtner 23 Darragh Leader Substitution Yellow card

Head to Head Statistics

Dragons       Connacht

  • Munster small
  • JDVII small
  • Dragons Wine Club
next game pointer icon

Next Game

Saturday January 26



Rodney Parade, Newport

KO 3:00 PM

adverts pointer icon

Official Sponsors